A A ASearch Lanark County Immigration Portal Home Page
Lanark County LogoCurrency


The Canadian dollar, which is divided into 100 cents, is the currency of Canada. Canadian coins include the nickel (five cents), the dime (10 cents), the quarter (25 cents), the one-dollar coin known as the “loonie” and the two-dollar coin called a “toonie.” The most common paper currency bills are $5, $10, $20 and $50.

Important Notice: The Government of Canada is phasing out the penny. Since February 4th, 2013, pennies will no longer be distributed to businesses or financial institutions. For further information visit: www.actionplan.gc.ca/penny or call 1-800-O-Canada.

It is recommended, if you are moving to Canada, to bring some Canadian currency with you. There are foreign exchange offices at airports in Canada, if you are unable to get Canadian currency before you arrive.

For more information about currency exchange, see the Bank of Canada’s currency exchange converter at http://www.bankofcanada.ca/en/rates/converter.html.


Beckwith Township Township of Montague Tay Valley Township Town of Mississippi Mills Town of Carleton Place Township of Lanark Highlands Township of Drummond North Elmsley Town of Perth Town of Smiths Falls