Township of Lanark Highlands

The Township of Lanark Highlands makes up the northwest corner of Lanark County and covers 1064.72 square kilometres, easily making it the largest (by area) of the eight municipalities that make up the County. The municipality is bordered to the north by Renfrew County and to the west by Frontenac County.

Lanark Highlands is a new municipality created in 1998 by the amalgamation of the Village of Lanark, Township of Lanark, Township of Darling and the Township of Lavant, Dalhousie and North Sherbrooke.

According to the 1996 Census, the population of Lanark Highlands is 4,629. The main settlement is the Village of Lanark, followed by the numerous scenic hamlets such as Hopetown, Poland, Lavant, Flower Station and McDonalds Corners.

The municipality is easily accessible by the county road system. County Road 511, which connects Perth to the nearby town of Calabogie, bisects the municipality, and links up with County Roads 9, 8, 16, and 12.

Lanark Highlands is dotted with several dozen lakes, of which Dalhousie, Patterson, Stump, Flower Round and Clyde are the most notable. Clyde River crosses the municipality and meets up with several other rivers, streams and brooks. As its name suggests, Lanark Highland also offers the picturesque vistas of rolling hills and Canadian shield topography, combining with the abundant water bodies to form prime cottage country.

Township of Lanark Highlands
75 George Street, PO Box 340
Lanark, Ontario K0G 1K0
Phone: (613) 259-2398 or (800) 239-4695
Fax: (613) 259-2291
Office Hours: Monday – Friday, 8:30 am to 4:30 pm