Emergency Services

In the case of an emergency, dial 9-1-1 to reach the Lanark County Ambulance Service, Lanark County Fire Departments or Lanark County Police services.

General Inquiries:

  • Town of Perth - (613) 267-3131
  • Town of Smiths Falls - (613) 283-0357
  • Town of Carleton Place - (613) 257-2323
  • Ontario Provincial Police - (613)267-2626, toll-free - 1-888-310-1122


The Lanark County Ambulance Service has five bases. Providing emergency care and transportation for the sick and injured, the ambulance service responds to approximately 14,000 calls each year throughout Lanark County.

Fire Department

The fire department responds to all types of emergencies, including fire alarms, structural, vehicle and chimney fires, medical assist, ice and water rescue, hazardous material incidents and motor vehicle accidents.

Other very important functions of the fire services department is fire prevention, inspection and public education programs.  This involves the inspection of all types of public and private buildings and structures to ensure compliance with fire code regulations and assist with fire drills and fire safety training.

The Smiths Falls Fire Department also operates the fire dispatch centre, which handles 9-1-1 and other emergency calls for all fire departments within Lanark County with the exception of the Town of Perth.


Committed to working together with the public to create a safer community, the police service has a fleet of police vehicles –  marked patrol units, unmarked traffic units, court vehicles, crime unit (CIB) vehicles, community service vehicles acquired with grant monies and administration vehicles.